About Us
About Us
Ministry Groups
Ministry Groups
Ministry Relations
Ministry Relations
Church Resource Tools
Church Resource Tools
Finance
Finance
Westside Story Ministry Group

wssmgart3


 

Meeting Dates

 

Oct. 21, 9:30am-12:30pm

 

Contact a co-convener or your pastor for Ministry Group  assistance to help your congregation meet its goals.


Rev Adrian Pratt

410 465 3993

adrianpratt@mthebronpc.org

Guy Moody

240 447 0831

moodys@comcast.net

 

 

WestSide Story Ministry Group News
At our most recent meeting at Christ Memorial Church, members of West Side Story finalized the Ministry Group's 2018 budget and made plans for the rest the year. Over the summer we hope to host a dinner for pastors (date and location to be determined) and a breakfast for Elders on Jul. 22 (location to be determined). We are also hosting the visit of author Robert P. Jones to the Presbytery, during which he will address some of the points made in his book "The End of White Christian America." This event will likely occur before the next Presbytery meeting to facilitate our denomination's ongoing discussion about race and justice.
 
During the meeting we invited members to make suggestions for the Ministry Group's 2018 program. These suggestions will be discussed at our next steering committee meeting. Any budget requests for funding need to be with the Steering Committee by Sept. 8 if they are to be considered as coming from this year's budget.
 
After the meeting, a number of our members helped congregants of Christ Memorial package 20,000 meals for the Rise Against Hunger effort. At the Ministry Group's next meeting on Saturday, Oct. 21, we will celebrate the many different projects we have  supported this year.
 
Co-Convenors Adrian Pratt/Guy Moody
 

 

WSSMG Solicits Grant Requests from Member Churches 

 

 Process for Grant Requests

Step 1: Download fillable form, save and rename. After completion, save and attach form to a new email and send to wssmgbaltpres@gmail.com. Each request must include a justification for how the funds will be used. The justification will need to show clearly how the funds will advance one or more of the objectives for which ministry groups were created. These are:

  • Christian formation and leadership development;
  • Congregational development;
  • Missional engagement with the communities;
  • Prophetic witness and action for reconciliation;
  • The creation of new faith communities.

Requests for grants should be signed by the pastor or clerk of session with approval of the session, as necessary.

Step 2: Submit the request to the WSSMG convener(s) by email. Once received, the conveners will review the request with the WSSMG Steering Team. The Steering Team will be responsible for determining if the request meets one or more of the goals outlined in Step 1 and if funds are available. The Steering team is not responsible for final approvals. 

Step 3: When the Steering Team has cleared a request, they will submit it to the WSSMG at the next regularly scheduled gathering for discussion and decision on whether to approve the request. Members present at the meeting will prayerfully consider and cast their votes concerning the request. These votes will be considered the decision of the WSSMG, regardless of the number of congregations present.

Step 4: Once a congregation has received approval for a grant request, they should not wait for funds to be delivered to them. Rather, they should spend the money from their own resources and submit an invoice or other documentation of their expenses to the Presbytery with a copy to the WSSMG convener(s) for reimbursement. If the congregation requires the funds prior to performing the project due to hardship or some other reason, they will need to notify the Presbytery of their reasons and request in writing advance issuance of the funds, including pricing details. Once the congregation has spent the funds, they still will need to provide documentation with a copy to the convener(s) of what they have spent.

Step 5: The congregation receiving a grant will be expected to report the outcome of their use of the funds at a future meeting. It is both uplifting and a means of sharing ideas with other congregations when we jointly celebrate the good news of how we are doing the work of Jesus Christ with our sister congregations.

Additional Considerations:

  • Although it is not absolutely required, it is certainly a sign of serious and faithful stewardship when the congregation requesting a grant uses some of their own resources in the project in the form of their own money and time. You should indicate in your request how much of your own money, if any, and time will be used.

 

  • If there is potential for other congregations within the WSSMG or Presbytery to join in a project for which the funds will be used, a statement of how other congregations might share in the ministry or project should be included with the request.

 

CLICK HERE FOR REQUEST FORM

(download fillable form, save, rename, complete and attach to new email)


The Steering Team may approve the request for the full amount or they may reduce the amount based on available budget or other concerns. If they do, they will notify the requesting congregation with an explanation of why. If the request does not appear to meet one of the required goals, they will discuss the request with the requester, getting further written justification as necessary.

 

"For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives, so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God,  being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience…"  Colossians 1:9-11  NIV

2017 WEST SIDE STORY MINISTRY GROUP -  MEMBER CHURCH PRAYER LIST

 

WEEK OF

CHURCH PRAYED FOR

WEEK OF

CHURCH PRAYED FOR

Sunday, January 01, 2017

Mt Paran

Sunday, July 09, 2017

Mt Hebron

Sunday, January 08, 2017

New Life Korean

Sunday, July 16, 2017

Mt Paran

Sunday, January 15, 2017

Northminster

Sunday, July 23, 2017

New Life Korean

Sunday, January 22, 2017

St John United

Sunday, July 30, 2017

Northminster

Sunday, January 29, 2017

St Andrew’s Mt Airy

Sunday, August 06, 2017

St John United

Sunday, February 05, 2017

Springfield

Sunday, August 13, 2017

St Andrew’s Mt Airy

Sunday, February 12, 2017

Catonsville

Sunday, August 20, 2017

Springfield

Sunday, February 19, 2017

Christ Memorial

Sunday, August 27, 2017

Catonsville

Sunday, February 26, 2017

First Howard County

Sunday, September 03, 2017

Christ Memorial

Sunday, March 05, 2017

First Westminster

Sunday, September 10, 2017

First Howard County

Sunday, March 12, 2017

Granite

Sunday, September 17, 2017

First Westminster

Sunday, March 19, 2017

Hope

Sunday, September 24, 2017

Granite

Sunday, March 26, 2017

Living Faith Fellowship

Sunday, October 01, 2017

Hope

Sunday, April 02, 2017

Mt Hebron

Sunday, October 08, 2017

Living Faith Fellowship

Sunday, April 09, 2017

Mt Paran

Sunday, October 15, 2017

Mt Hebron

Sunday, April 16, 2017

New Life Korean

Sunday, October 22, 2017

Mt Paran

Sunday, April 23, 2017

Northminster

Sunday, October 29, 2017

New Life Korean

Sunday, April 30, 2017

St John United

Sunday, November 05, 2017

Northminster

Sunday, May 07, 2017

St Andrew’s Mt Airy

Sunday, November 12, 2017

St John United

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Springfield

Sunday, November 19, 2017

St Andrew’s Mt Airy

Sunday, May 21, 2017

Catonsville

Sunday, November 26, 2017

Springfield

Sunday, May 28, 2017

Christ Memorial

Sunday, December 03, 2017

Catonsville

Sunday, June 04, 2017

First Howard County

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Christ Memorial

Sunday, June 11, 2017

First Westminster

Sunday, December 17, 2017

First Howard County

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Granite

Sunday, December 24, 2017

First Westminster

Sunday, June 25, 2017

Hope

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Granite

Sunday, July 02, 2017

Living Faith Fellowship