About Us
About Us
Ministry Groups
Ministry Groups
Committee on Ministry
Committee on Ministry
Committee on Preparation for Ministry
Committee on Preparation for Ministry
Church Resource Tools
Church Resource Tools
Finance
Finance
GA Highlights!

ga223logo

Click emblem above

Westside Story Ministry Group

wssmgartwork2


Meeting Dates
 

 

 

Welcome Newly Elected Co-Conveners: 

Matthew Glasgow (pastormdg@gmail.com)

Judy Sheldon (judysheldon@mthebronpc.org)

 

 

 

Objectives

Christian Formation and Leadership Development;

Congregational Development;

Missional Engagement with Communities;

Prophetic Witness and Action for Reconciliation;

The Creation of New Faith Communities.

 


wssmgmtgtraining


West Side Story is delighted to be teaming with Uptown Metro for some exciting leadership training on Saturday, September 22, 2018.  PLEASE NOTE: We will include training for officers that will count as training required for churches in the Presbytery.

The Meeting:

  • A panel discussion from pastors in the presbytery;
  • Training for officers;
  • Workshops on a variety of topics;
  • Affinity group discussions; and
  • A short WSSMG business meeting at which we will discuss opportunities for monetary grants.

Lunch and childcare will be provided.

 

Who should attend:

All church leaders - officers, staff, Christian educators, or anyone who identifies as a leader - are invited. Any leaders desiring enhanced annual training should be thereneeding annual training should be there.

 

When:

Saturday, September 22, 2018: Joint Meeting 9:00am-1:00pm; WSSMG business meeting, to follow, depart no later than 2pm

 

Where:

Central Presbyterian Church, 7308 York Road, Towson, MD 21204

 

RSVP:

WSS Ministry <wssmgbaltpres@gmail.com. Please let us know who and how many from your congregation will be attending. We are developing workshops now. If there is an area of particular interest to you and your congregation or if someone would like to lead a workshop or enable an affinity group, please respond ASAP. More details will follow. Please get the word out to congregants who would benefit so they can get it on their calendars. And of course, you are invited to attend, too!


 

2018 WEST SIDE STORY MINISTRY GROUP - MEMBER CHURCH PRAYER LIST

"For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives, so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God,  being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience…"  Colossians 1:9-11  NIV


 

WEEK OF

CHURCH PRAYED FOR

WEEK OF

CHURCH PRAYED FOR

Sunday, January 07, 2018

Mt Paran

Sunday, July 08, 2018

Mt Paran

Sunday, January 14, 2018

Northminster

Sunday, July 15, 2018

Northminster

Sunday, January 21, 2018

St John United

Sunday, July 22, 2018

St John United

Sunday, January 28, 2018

St Andrew’s Mt Airy

Sunday, July 29, 2018

St Andrew’s Mt Airy

Sunday, February 04, 2018

Springfield

Sunday, August 05, 2018

Springfield

Sunday, February 11, 2018

Catonsville

Sunday, August 12, 2018

Catonsville

Sunday, February 18, 2018

Christ Memorial

Sunday, August 19, 2018

Christ Memorial

Sunday, February 25, 2018

First Howard County

Sunday, August 26, 2018

First Howard County

Sunday, March 04, 2018

First Westminster

Sunday, September 02, 2018

First Westminster

Sunday, March 11, 2018

Granite

Sunday, September 09, 2018

Granite

Sunday, March 18, 2018

Hope

Sunday, September 16, 2018

Hope

Sunday, March 25, 2018

Korean United

Sunday, September 23, 2018

Korean United

Sunday, April 01, 2018

Mt Hebron

Sunday, September 30, 2018

Mt Hebron

Sunday, April 08, 2018

Mt Paran

Sunday, October 07, 2018

Mt Paran

Sunday, April 15, 2018

Northminster

Sunday, October 14, 2018

Northminster

Sunday, April 22, 2018

St John United

Sunday, October 21, 2018

St John United

Sunday, April 29, 2018

St Andrew’s Mt Airy

Sunday, October 28, 2018

St Andrew’s Mt Airy

Sunday, May 06, 2018

Springfield

Sunday, November 04, 2018

Springfield

Sunday, May 13, 2018

Catonsville

Sunday, November 11, 2018

Catonsville

Sunday, May 20, 2018

Christ Memorial

Sunday, November 18, 2018

Christ Memorial

Sunday, May 27, 2018

First Howard County

Sunday, November 25, 2018

First Howard County

Sunday, June 03, 2018

First Westminster

Sunday, December 02, 2018

First Westminster

Sunday, June 10, 2018

Granite

Sunday, December 09, 2018

Granite

Sunday, June 17, 2018

Hope

Sunday, December 16, 2018

Hope

Sunday, June 24, 2018

Korean United

Sunday, December 23, 2018

Korean United

Sunday, July 01, 2018

Mt Hebron

Sunday, December 30, 2018

Mt Hebron


 

WSSMG Solicits Grant Requests from Member Churches 

 

 Process for Grant Requests

Step 1: Download fillable form, save and rename. After completion, save and attach form to a new email and send to wssmgbaltpres@gmail.com. Each request must include a justification for how the funds will be used. The justification will need to show clearly how the funds will advance one or more of the objectives for which ministry groups were created. These are:

  • Christian formation and leadership development;
  • Congregational development;
  • Missional engagement with the communities;
  • Prophetic witness and action for reconciliation;
  • The creation of new faith communities.

Requests for grants should be signed by the pastor or clerk of session with approval of the session, as necessary.

Step 2: Submit the request to the WSSMG convener(s) by email. Once received, the conveners will review the request with the WSSMG Steering Team. The Steering Team will be responsible for determining if the request meets one or more of the goals outlined in Step 1 and if funds are available. The Steering team is not responsible for final approvals. 

Step 3: When the Steering Team has cleared a request, they will submit it to the WSSMG at the next regularly scheduled gathering for discussion and decision on whether to approve the request. Members present at the meeting will prayerfully consider and cast their votes concerning the request. These votes will be considered the decision of the WSSMG, regardless of the number of congregations present.

Step 4: Once a congregation has received approval for a grant request, they should not wait for funds to be delivered to them. Rather, they should spend the money from their own resources and submit an invoice or other documentation of their expenses to the Presbytery with a copy to the WSSMG convener(s) for reimbursement. If the congregation requires the funds prior to performing the project due to hardship or some other reason, they will need to notify the Presbytery of their reasons and request in writing advance issuance of the funds, including pricing details. Once the congregation has spent the funds, they still will need to provide documentation with a copy to the convener(s) of what they have spent.

Step 5: The congregation receiving a grant will be expected to report the outcome of their use of the funds at a future meeting. It is both uplifting and a means of sharing ideas with other congregations when we jointly celebrate the good news of how we are doing the work of Jesus Christ with our sister congregations.

Additional Considerations:

  • Although it is not absolutely required, it is certainly a sign of serious and faithful stewardship when the congregation requesting a grant uses some of their own resources in the project in the form of their own money and time. You should indicate in your request how much of your own money, if any, and time will be used.

 

  • If there is potential for other congregations within the WSSMG or Presbytery to join in a project for which the funds will be used, a statement of how other congregations might share in the ministry or project should be included with the request.

 

CLICK HERE FOR REQUEST FORM

(download fillable form, save, rename, complete and attach to new email)


The Steering Team may approve the request for the full amount or they may reduce the amount based on available budget or other concerns. If they do, they will notify the requesting congregation with an explanation of why. If the request does not appear to meet one of the required goals, they will discuss the request with the requester, getting further written justification as necessary.